DWI Attorneys Floyd County

DWI Lawyers Floyd County

 

If you need the services of a DUI or DWI attorney in Floyd County then call this number:

 

The penalties in Texas for driving under the influence can be harsh.  Here are some of the possible outcomes for a first-time offense according to the Texas Department of Transportation (full information here):

First offense

  • Up to a $2,000 fine.
  • Up to 180 days in jail upon conviction with three mandatory days.
  • Loss of driver license up to a year.

Second offense

  • Up to a $4,000 fine.
  • One month to a year in jail upon conviction.
  • Loss of driver license up to two years.

Third offense

  • A $10,000 fine.
  • Two to 10 years in prison.
  • Loss of driver license up to two years.

These fines do not include a state fine of $3,000, $4,500, or $6,000 assessed upon sentencing.

Texas Penal Code Chapter 49

This link goes into many, but not all, of the Texas statutes regarding intoxication while operating a car, truck, boat (or other watercraft), and other moving vehicles:  https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/PE/htm/PE.49.htm

Section 49.04 reads:

DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED. (a) A person commits an offense if the person is intoxicated while operating a motor vehicle in a public place.

(b) Except as provided by Subsections (c) and (d) and Section 49.09, an offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor, with a minimum term of confinement of 72 hours.

(c) If it is shown on the trial of an offense under this section that at the time of the offense the person operating the motor vehicle had an open container of alcohol in the person’s immediate possession, the offense is a Class B misdemeanor, with a minimum term of confinement of six days.

(d) If it is shown on the trial of an offense under this section that an analysis of a specimen of the person’s blood, breath, or urine showed an alcohol concentration level of 0.15 or more at the time the analysis was performed, the offense is a Class A misdemeanor.

 

Having adequate legal representation should you need a DWI attorney if you get arrested or otherwise charged in Floyd County is critical.  There are many things which your attorney can do to help your situation, depending on the severity of what occurred.

 

Alcohol And Driving Information For Floyd County

Here is information specific to DWI and other alcohol-related driving information for Floyd County.