Texas Driver’s License or Inspection Expired? Here is what it’s good to know

0
128

Texas Driver’s License or Inspection Expired? Here’s what you need to know

With the stay at home orders currently in place across Texas due to the COVID-19 crisis, the state is making special provisions for outdated driver’s licenses or vehicle inspections.

An outdated driver’s license or vehicle inspection is usually enough to get you run over and get a ticket.

But the state is making special arrangements with the stay-at-home orders currently in place across Texas due to the COVID-19 crisis.

Registrations & inspections

Don’t worry if one of your vehicle registrations or inspections has expired during the closings caused by COVID-19. The state of Texas has granted a waiver period. As soon as the state of emergency has expired, the watch begins with a grace period of 60 days to have your vehicle checked and to complete the registration process.

Driving license

A similar program is being carried out by the Ministry of Public Security. If your driver’s license expired on or after March 13th and you are unable to renew it due to COVID-19 closings, you will automatically be granted a waiver of the expiration date for 60 days after DPS publicly announces that normal operations are in place was resumed.

RELATED: Coronavirus Coverage

Title transfers

If you’ve bought a car and need to transfer the title, Governor Greg Abbott paused on the timeline request. This means that no action is currently required. You have two months to transfer a title once the tax office has resumed normal operations. There are no penalties during the break.

Vehicle maintenance

A quick reminder: if you quarantine your home, start your car at least once a week, whether you drive it or not. This will keep the battery charged and the engine running properly. Just make sure it has reached full operating temperature before turning off the device.

RELATED: Interactive Map of Texas COVID-19 Cases