Texas Reckless Driving Statutes

0
38
reckless driving

With the recent national news about the car driving through the crowd in Wisconsin, now might be an appropriate time to review Texas’ statutes about reckless driving.  The statutes can be found here in section 545 of the Transportation Code (“Rules of the Road, Operation And Movement Of Vehicles”):

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/docs/tn/htm/tn.545.htm

Sec. 545.401. RECKLESS DRIVING; OFFENSE. (a) A person commits an offense if the person drives a vehicle in wilful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.

(b) An offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by:

(1) a fine not to exceed $200;

(2) confinement in county jail for not more than 30 days; or

(3) both the fine and the confinement.

(c) Notwithstanding Section 542.001, this section applies to:

(1) a private access way or parking area provided for a client or patron by a business, other than a private residential property or the property of a garage or parking lot for which a charge is made for the storing or parking of motor vehicles; and

(2) a highway or other public place.

(d) Notwithstanding Section 542.004, this section applies to a person, a team, or motor vehicles and other equipment engaged in work on a highway surface.

Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 165, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1995.

Prayers to the injured people, family, and friends of those affected in the recent Wisconsin event.


 

Thank you to friends of the website: